Member's Press Release

Release Date: 02/15/2019
Contact: Delegate Cindy Lavender-Bowe (304) 340-3129

House Democrat Women's Caucus

Democratic Women’s Caucus Calls for Restoring Women’s Commission Funding


Charleston, WV - The Democratic Women’s Caucus in the West Virginia House of Delegates sent a letter to Governor Jim Justice, Speaker Roger Hanshaw, and House Finance Chair Eric Householder yesterday requesting restoration of funding to the West Virginia Women’s Commission.

“The West Virginia Women’s Commission allows young ladies an environment of inspiration, motivation, and an educational experience,” states Delegate Danielle Walker (D-Monongalia). “This Commission will continue to be a platform of ALL females throughout the Mountain State, and it deserves to be funded.”

The West Virginia Women’s Commission objectives include advancing the economic status, health, safety, education and leadership of West Virginia’s women, objectives that closely mirror the Democratic Women’s Caucus’s goals.

“The Women’s Commission inspires our women by educating, supporting, and empowering them to achieve their dreams,” said Delegate Amanda Estep-Burton (D-Kanawha).

The West Virginia Women’s Commission has sponsored workshops, classes, and lobby days in the past, including trainings from which women currently in the House of Delegates have benefited. Restoration of funding to the Commission would allow the organization to continue offering those activities.

“The Commission provides education and support for girls and women in our great state,” says Delegate Lisa Zukoff (D-Marshall). “One of those items includes providing candidate training for women considering running for office, and if we’re going to change the priorities of this legislative body, we need more women here at the Capitol.”

The remaining members of the caucus are Delegate Sammi Brown (D-Jefferson), Delegate Barbara Fleischauer (D-Monongalia), Delegate Cindy Lavender-Bowe (D-Greenbrier), Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-Marion) and Delegate Margaret Staggers (D-Fayette).

All Releases
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2021 West Virginia Legislature **