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Every day, dozens of youth visit the Capitol 
to see the legislative process firsthand and 
participate by serving as pages. These 
boys and girls continue a tradition that 
spans virtually the entire length of West 
Virginia’s history. 

Records in the 1866 Senate Journal and 
the 1868 House of Delegates Journal show 
the appointment of two to three young 
men, ages 13 to 18, to serve throughout 
the entire regular session for $2.50 a day.

Now, 140 years later, the duties of legislative 
pages has changed, but they continue to 
serve lawmakers by volunteering for a day 
at the Capitol -- keeping session floor 
traffic at a minimum by running errands and 
learning about the legislative process.

The West Virginia Legislature’s Page 
Program has become a successful and 
important program that takes place 
during the regular legislative session.  
The program not only serves legislators 
but also provides a gateway for the public 
to experience their government at work. 

“It is always good to get young, bright 
people engaged in the process,” House 
Majority Leader Joe Delong said. “It gives 
them access to government, and, after 
they have been here for the day, they may 
be more likely to get involved later.”

The program gives students who are 12 
or older from West Virginia’s public and 
private schools an opportunity to serve 
as pages in the Legislature. As part of 
their visit to Charleston, students receive 
a tour of the Capitol before taking to the 
floors of the House or Senate. They are 
also given a certificate of service signed by 
the respective clerk and their sponsoring 
senator or delegate, a photograph with their 
lawmaker and a page program book that 
provides information on every legislator, 
the legislative process and the Capitol.

Lawmakers interested in sponsoring 
students contact schools in their districts 
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to request pages. The schools later get in touch with the appropriate lawmakers with 
the names of the children interested and establish when they can visit the Capitol. If 
students are interested in paging for a specific lawmaker, they also can contact the 
respective clerk’s office to book a certain day. There is a huge interest in the program 
according to House Clerk Gregory Gray.

“It’s a good program because children are exposed to their government,” he said. “The 
more exposure to the process, the better.”

Pages serve members of the House and Senate in a variety of ways. They can be asked to 
bring in a cup of coffee or to obtain a piece of legislation. If a note needs to be passed, a page 
will see it is delivered.  While they are performing their duties on the floors of the chambers, 
they get a firsthand learning experience regarding the role state legislators play.

“They really get to experience history,” said Senate Clerk Darrell Holmes. “They get 
to hear the bills that are introduced, see the bills that are passed and just receive 
information that is not available in school.”

The West Virginia Page Program doesn’t just assist lawmakers, it provides the opportunity 
for young people to expand their knowledge and see government in action. Students 
who serve as pages also have the opportunity to meet with lawmakers from their districts 
and across the state. This time allows them to share their thoughts and concerns.

“A lot of what children read in their West Virginia History classes becomes more real,” 
H. Truman Chafin, Senate Majority Leader said. “To come into the chamber is just an 
awesome and inspiring room. You learn more in one trip to the Capitol than you do in a 
thousand West Virginia History classes.”
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West Virginia Legislature’s Page Program
For over 140 years, students have had a front row seat to observe floor debates.



House Bill 4460 would require property 
owners to disclose the previous existence 
of a crystal methamphetamine lab on a 
property.  Failure to disclose such informa-
tion would make the sale or lease of the 
property voidable. 

House Bill 4462 would increase the 
amount of support that is received for de-
pendent children who survive State Police 
officers killed in the line of duty from $150 
per month to $500 per month.  

House Bill 4467 would make it a misde-
meanor to falsify educational or academic 
records or to knowingly misrepresent aca-
demic or educational records to obtain a 
benefit for that individual or another party.  

House Bill 4474 would require a registered 
nurse to be present as a circulating nurse 
in each operating room during surgical pro-
cedures.  These nurses would have to have 
the qualifying education, license and expe-
rience in operating room nursing.   

House Bill 4483 would prohibit any sex 
offender on supervised release for a term 
of 10 years to life from loitering within 1,000 
feet of a school, childcare facility, school 
bus stop or other child safety zone such 
as a playground or swimming pool. A sex 

son whose eyesight cannot be corrected 
to conform to minimum vision standards. 
This bill would become effective on Janu-
ary 1, 2009.  

House Bill 4120 would prohibit complaints 
in personal injury or wrongful death actions 
from stating specific dollar amounts or fig-
ures effective July 1, 2008.  It also would 
permit party defendants in such actions to 
request written statements of the nature 
and amount of damages being sought. 

House Bill 4137 would require a munici-
pality or county to be notified in writing by 
an insurance company when a claim for 
total loss is filed within that county or mu-
nicipality.

House Bill 4329 would allow the DIvision 
of Motor Vehicles to offer an optional two-
year registration for Class G vehicles.  The 
fee for the two-year registration would be 
double a one-year registration fee.

House Bill 4337 would authorize the Board 
of Barbers and Cosmetologists to increase 
fees for one year. For 2009, such fees 
would be $50 for a licensing exam, $35 for 
a license, $100 for a reciprocal license and 
$25 for a student permit.  

House Bill 4348 would give statutory 
authority to the Office of Miners’ Health, 
Safety & Training to charge fees for nec-
essary tests, certificates and mine safety 
publications.

House Bill 4388 would allow the Supreme 
Court to maintain a domestic violence da-
tabase containing certified copies of pro-
tective orders issued in West Virginia and 
other states. Anyone who has obtained a 
protective order would be able to register 
that order with the database.  

House Bill 4423 would prohibit a purchaser 
of scrap metal from knowingly purchasing 
or possessing a stainless steel beer keg, or 
part of a keg, for the purpose of reselling as 
scrap metal unless the purchaser receives 
the keg from a beer manufacturer, autho-
rized representative or a seller with proof of 
lawful ownership. 

House Bill 4478 would prohibit the trans-
fer during the instructional term of any aide, 
paraprofessional or interpreter who is as-
signed to work with a student who has an 
individualized education program (IEP) that 
requires one-on-one services. 
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In the House
As of 4:00 p.m., Wednesday, February 13, 
the 36th day of the 78th Legislature, 1,154 
bills have been introduced in the House.  
Of these, 12 have passed this week and 
been sent to the Senate for consideration.  
Bills passed this week include:

House Bill 4032 would allow employees 
and employers to use a direct deposit sys-
tem using an ATM card or other means of 
electronic transfer for the payment of em-
ployees’ wages. 

House Bill 4059 would allow a school bus 
operator to be eligible for continued em-
ployment if he or she is issued a passenger 
endorsement on his or her driver’s license 
through the Division of Motor Vehicles’ in-
trastate waiver program for diabetes. The 
operator would have to submit the infor-
mation required for the waiver to his or her 
employer and remain in compliance with 
the conditions of the waiver.   

House Bill 4069 would require applicants 
to pass a vision screening conducted by 
the DIvision of Motor Vehicles in order to 
be eligible for license renewal. A driver’s 
license would not be renewed for a per-

See In the House, pg. 4
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Bills Introduced In the House

Senate Bill 459 will clarify the rule 
making authority of the School Build-
ing Authority. This bill will also autho-
rize the implementation of two sets 
of rules approved by the Legislative 
Oversight Commission on Education 
Accountability (LOCEA): the seven 
rules of the School Building Authority 
and the PROMISE rule of the Higher 
Education Policy Commission. 

House Bill 4147 will allow the 
Speaker of the House and the 
Senate President to designate 
parking during legislative and 
interim sessions in areas where the 
Department of Administration had 
previously authorized parking. 

Completed Legislative Action
(Week of Feb. 6 - 13, 2008)



West Virginia Legislature’s Web site
Designed to strengthen your connection to West Virginia’s legislators and the laws that 
govern this state, the West Virginia Legislature’s Web site provides you with access to 
various resources, including contact information, legislation and educational materials. 
The Legislature’s online Bulletin Board maintains prompt information during legislative 
sessions through the Legislature’s Calendars, Meetings, Abstracts, Indexes and Journals.  
Citizens also can view the entire West Virginia Code, interactive district maps, committee 
agendas and membership information at:  http://www.legis.state.wv.us

In the Senate
As of 4:00 p.m., Wednesday February 
13, the 36th day of the 78th Legislature, 
662 bills have been introduced in the 
Senate. Of these, a total of 5 have passed 
this week and will go to the House for its 
consideration. The bills that have passed 
this week include:

Senate Bill 242 would allow drivers who 
have less than 14 points on their licenses 
and complete a defensive drinking course 
to deduct three points from their license. 

Senate Bill 298 would expand the 
definitions of imminent danger and the 
physical well being of a child in regards to 
child abuse. This bill would add parents or 
guardians who habitually abuse drugs and 
alcohol to a list of situations that endanger 
a child’s welfare. 

Senate Bill 481 would authorize physician 
assistants with proper mental health 
certifications to conduct examinations 
arranged by a community mental health 
center designated by the Secretary of 
the Department of Health and Human 
Resources in regards to a patient’s mental 
health hygiene. 

Senate Bill 512 would change the 
number of members on the Records 
Management and Preservation Board for 
county government entities from nine to 
11 members.

Senate Bill 627 would specify any terrorist 
threat as a felony regardless of whether 
a person actually intended to commit a 
terrorist act. 

Senate Bill 588 would forbid soil or 
waste earth and rock covering a mineral 
deposit to be placed permanently in 
or within 100 feet of any stream. This 
would not apply to the placement of coal 
processing waste.

Senate Bill 589 would require towing 
services, their vehicles and operators to 
be subject to Public Safety Commission 
safety rules. Towing businesses would 
also be required to record the starting 
and ending time; the rate charged to 
each customer; the name, trade name, 
address and telephone number of the 
towing service; the name and address of 
the owner of the towed vehicle; and the 
vehicle information on each invoice.

Senate Bill 592 would provide a one-time 
supplement of 4 percent of a person’s 
monthly annuity benefit for annuitants 
within the Deputy Sheriff Retirement 
System who have been retired three to 
five consecutive years. In the event of an 
annuitant’s death, surviving beneficiaries 
considered eligible based on the retirement 
date of the deceased may claim the 
supplement. 

Senate Bill 595 would establish goals 
and objectives for public and higher 
education in 2020 titled Vision 2020. 
This bill would clarify elements of the 
accountability system for public higher 
education and create a committee to 
study capital projects and maintenance 
needs of buildings involved with higher 
education. 
	
Senate Bill 608 would add sexual 
orientation to the categories covered by 
the Human Rights Act. Age and sexual 
orientation would also be added to 
categories protected by the Fair Housing 
Act.

Senate Bill 609 would allow for the 
creation of the West Virginia Innovation 
and Development Act. It would allow the 
Economic Development Authority (WVEDA) 
to give $2 million dollars annually to invest 
in seed and venture capital and other 
equity investments to provide support to 
entrepreneurs. Also, the WVEDA would 
be  allowed to award another $5 million 
dollars in credits annually for investments 
in qualified investment companies.

Senate Bill 610 would allow schools to 
be open on Saturday and remove the 
provision stating that special classes held 
on Saturdays must be voluntary. 

Senate Bill 612 would increase the 
number of people on the West Virginia 
Racing Commission from three to five and 
require that less than four members be of 
the same political party. This bill would also 
require that one member be from the West 
Virginia Greyhound Owners and Breeders 
Association and another member be a 
representative of the National Horsemen’s 
Benevolence & Protective Association.

Senate Bill 613 would require the design, 
construction and use of domestic and 
commercial liquefied petroleum gas-
consuming equipment to be certified. 
This bill would also require all equipment 
involved in the delivery of liquefied 
petroleum gas to function according 
to the instructions designated for that 
piece of equipment by its manufacturer. 
Equipment alteration or repair would be 
prohibited unless completed according 
to the manufacturer’s prescribed 
procedures. This bill would also protect 
persons involved, but not participating, in 
the act of selling, supplying, handling or 
transporting liquefied petroleum gas from 
civil liability.

Senate Bill 615 would allow a licensed 
optometrist to prescribe vision correction 
devices that also dispense drugs that 
would ordinarily be applied externally to 
the eye or taken orally.

Senate Bill 625 would authorize the State 
Board of Education to set amounts for 
and collect review fees from publishers 
wishing to have their instructional and 
educational materials adopted for use in 
West Virginia.

Senate Bill 631 would include antique 
and classic trucks in the classification of 
antique and classic motor vehicles.

Senate Bill 632 would encourage 
restaurants to provide nutritional 
information on their menus, including 
signboards that drive-through customers 
order from. Participating restaurants would 
be given permission to display a universal 
logo that would reflect the availability of 
caloric information. 
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In the House - continued from pg. 2

offender who violates this prohibition would 
be required to serve all or part of the term of 
supervised release in prison without credit 
for time previously served on release.    

House Bill 4484 would revise the current 
criminal offense of stalking to incorporate 
the provisions of the National Center for 
Victims of Crime’s “Model Stalking Code 
for the State.” A person would be guilty of 
stalking if he or she engaged in conduct 
that would cause a reasonable person to 
fear for his or her safety or the safety of a 
third person or suffer other emotional dis-
tress. If found guilty of stalking, a person 
would be charged with a misdemeanor 
and jailed for up to six months or fined up 
to $1,000.  In addition, an individual would 
be guilty of a felony if he or she violated 
any court order prohibiting contact with 
the victim, the victim was a minor, the de-
fendant used or threatened to use force or 
a weapon or the defendant was convicted 
for a stalking violation within the previous 
five years.  

In the Senate - continued from pg. 3

Senate Bill 637 would require the West 
Virginia State Board of Education to 
develop a CPR and First Aid curriculum 
that would be taught in the required health 
courses of all secondary schools.

Senate Bill 645 would exempt city and 
county hospitals from the requirement to 
file or publish reports, which is an audit 
requirement for local government offices.

Senate Bill 647 would give sheriffs and 
their designees the right to view the 
information contained in the State Board 
of Pharmacy’s database, which contains 
privileged information regarding patient 
health records. 

Senate Bill 656 would allow persons to 
obtain a single license for hunting, fishing 
and trapping as of July 1, 2010. This bill 
would also require that the West Virginia 
Department of Natural Resources receive 
1 percent of the General Revenue Fund 
each year. 

House Bill 4498 would limit the liability for 
repair costs to automobile owners when 
they hit a deer on a state highway.  The per-
son who hit the deer would not be liable for 
repair costs exceeding $200, regardless of 
the amount of the deductible required under 
his or her motor vehicle insurance policy.  

House Bill 4505 would allow fireworks dis-
plays on public school property upon approv-
al of the State Superintendent of Schools and 
the State Fire Marshall. Public schools and 
County Boards of Education would not have 
to obtain a bond for a fireworks display.

House Bill 4514 would require the White-
water Commission to establish a fee for 
each customer transported by a licensed 
commercial whitewater outfitter through a 
study zone of the Gauley River.  The fee 
would be used to stock the Gauley River 
with trout during the spring and fall sea-
sons of each year to help relieve the loss of 
fishing opportunities resulting from the ad-
ditional water volume on the Gauley River.
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