Member's Press Release

Release Date: 11/01/2019
Contact: Jacque Bland at (304) 357-7999

Mitch Carmichael

Senator Chandler Swope Named Chairman of Economic Development Committee

CHARLESTON – Senate President Mitch Carmichael, R-Jackson, today announced that Senator Chandler Swope, R-Mercer, has been named Chairman of the Economic Development Committee. He replaces Senator Mark Maynard, R-Wayne, who has been named Chairman of the Committee on Government Organization.

Senator Swope was elected to the Senate in 2016. He is currently Chairman of the Workforce Committee, and the Vice Chairman of the Economic Development, Government Organization, and Transportation and Infrastructure committees. He also currently serves as a member of the Banking and Insurance, Energy, Industry and Mining, and Finance committees.

“Economic development is an important focus to the Senate, and I am happy to have Chandler leading our efforts,” Senate President Carmichael said. “His experience and proven record of success in business will be pivotal in our push to keep West Virginia moving forward. I expect big ideas to come from this committee in the new year.”

Senator Swope retired in 2011 from Bluefield-based Swope Construction Company, of which he was founder and past president. He also has served on the boards of the Bluefield Regional Medical Center, Mercer County Chamber of Commerce, the Hugh I. Shott Foundation, and the West Virginia Construction Education Trust.

“I’m honored that Senate President Carmichael has asked me to step into this role,” Senator Swope said. “West Virginia has made great progress during the last few years in improving our business climate and making our state attractive to companies who want to come here and create jobs. I’m excited to build upon that success with our committee this year.”

Senator Swope represents the Sixth Senatorial District, which includes Mercer County and parts of Wayne, Mingo, and McDowell counties.

All Releases

This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2021 West Virginia Legislature **