SENATE
HOUSE
JOINT
BILL STATUS
WV CODE
REPORTS
EDUCATIONAL
CONTACT
home
home

Judith A. Herndon Fellowship

Undergraduates are selected to participate in the 60-day session as Herndon Fellows and are assigned to assist a sole legislator from either the Senate of the House of Delegates.

The interns are required to perform research and various staff functions. Among other job-related responsibilities, participants are introduced to and develop an understanding of the politics of legislation, legislative research, bill drafting, the role and function of committees and the executive-legislative liaison.


DETAILS & ELIGIBILITY

Number of positions:10

APPLICATION

Herndon Fellowship Application


LEGISLATIVE CONTACT

Sara D. Jones
West Virginia House of Delegates
Legislative Internship Committee
Building 1, Room 215-E
State Capitol Complex
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
phone: (304) 340-3386
Sara.Jones@wvhouse.gov


CAMPUS CONTACTS

Alderson Broaddus University
Dr. James Owston, Dean of Humanities & Social Sciences
owstonjm@ab.edu
(304)457-6240
101 College Hill Drive Philippi, WV 26416


Bethany College
Gary Kappel, Associate Professor of History & Chair of Department of History & Political Science
gkappel@bethanywv.edu
(304)829-7848
31 E Campus Dr Bethany, WV 26032


Bluefield State College
Dr. Colin Cavell, Associate Professor of Political Science
ccavell@bluefieldstate.edu
(304)327-4034
219 Rock St. Basic Science Building- B120 Bluefield, WV 24701


University of Charleston
Bradford Deel, Professor
braddeel@ucwv.edu
(304)357-4701
2300 MacCorkle Ave, SE Charleston, WV 25304

Hannah Kennedy. Director Career Development
hannahkennedy@ucwv.edu
(304)357-4977
2300 MacCorkle Ave, SE Charleston, WV 25304


Concord University
Dr. Sally Campbell
sjhoward@concord.edu
(304)384-5149
Marsh Hall, Room A116 Concord University Athens, WV 24712-1000


Davis & Elkins College
David Turner, Chair Division of Humanities
turnerd@dewv.edu
(304)637-1294
100 Campus Drive Elkins, WV 26241


Fairmont State University
Dr. Joshua Smallridge, Chair Dept of Social Science
jsmallridge@fairmontstate.edu
(304)367-4740
College of Liberal Arts, 115 Hardway Hall Fairmont, WV 26554


Glenville State College
Dr. Marisha Lecea, Assistant Professor of Political Science
Marisha.lecea@glenville.edu
(304)462-6288
235 Louis Bennett Hall Glenville, WV 26351


Marshall University
Dr. Mary Beth Beller
beller@marshall.edu
(304)696-2763
Department of Political Science, Smith Hall
738 Marshall University One John Marshall Drive Huntington, WV 25755


Ohio Valley University
Dr. Wes Harrison, Chair School of Liberal Arts
Wes.harrison@ovu.edu
(304)865-6121
1 Campus View Drive Vienna, WV 26105


Potomac State College of WVU
Cassandra Pritts
Cassandra.pritts@mai.wvu.edu
(304)788-7082
101 Fort Ave Keyser, WV 26726

Nicklaus Goff
Nicklaus.goff@mail.wvu.edu
(304)788-6918
101 Fort Ave Keyser, WV 26726


Shepherd University
Dr. Max Guirguis
mguirgui@shepherd.edu
(304)876-5266
312C White Hall, 110 E. High Street, Shepherdstown, WV 25443


West Liberty University
Dr. Keith Bell, Interim Department Chair
Keith.bell@westliberty.edu
(304)336-8376
101 Faculty Dr Wheeling, WV 26003


West Virginia State University
Tom Bennett
Tbennett3@wvstate.edu
(304)766-3112
103 Ferrell Hall PO Box 399 Institute, WV 25112


West Virginia University
Dr. Jason MacDonald
Jason.macdonald@mail.wvu.edu
(304)293-9665
Room 315D, Woodburn Hall Morgantown, WV 26506


West Virginia University of Parkersburg
Dr. Robert Anderson
Rob.anderson@wvup.edu
(304)424-8270
300 Campus Drive Room 1025A Parkersburg, WV 26104


West Virginia Institute of Technology
Dr. Janis Rezek, Chair and Associate Professor
Janis.rezek@mail.wvu.edu
(304)929-1319
Social Science Programs WVU Institute of Technology 410 Neville St Beckley, WV 25801


West Virginia Wesleyan College
Dr. Robert Rupp
Rupp_r@wvwc.edu
(304)473-8561
59 College Avenue Buckhannon, WV 26201


Wheeling Jesuit University
Laurie McCullough, Interim Vice President Academic Affairs
lmccullough@wju.edu
(304)243-2281
316 Washington Ave Wheeling, WV 26003





LINKS

Walter Rollins Scholars & Robert W. Burk Jr. Interns
Judith A. Herndon Fellowship
Frasure-Singleton Internship
Legislative Information Journalism Internship
Internship Introduction


 
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature **