Bill Status
WV Code
Audits/ Reports

The West Virginia Capitol: Project of Five Governors


› The Early Capitol Locations
› Planning the Capitol Complex
› West Virginia Executive Mansion
› Building the Capitol: Part 1
› Building the Capitol: Part 2
› Building the Capitol: Part 3
› The Architect's Description
› Biographical Sketch of the Architect
› Capitol Building Commission Members
› The West Virginia Capitol: Project of Five Governors
› Mythological Figures in the Carved Heads
› Summary of Facts Concerning the Capitol
› Glossary of Architectural Terms Used
› Bibliography and Photographic Credits

John Jacob Cornwell

Term of office 1917-1921; governor when downtown capitol burned in January of 1921; called Legislature into extraordinary session to commence plans for new facilities

Ephraim Franklin Morgan

Term of office 1921-1925; appointed original building commission; west wing and governor's mansion completed at end of his term; only governor to occupy both mansions

Howard Mason Gore

Term of office 1925-1929: east wing completed during his term; governor when "Pasteboard Capitol" burned in March of 1927

William Gustavus Conley

Term of office 1929--l933: main unit completed during his term; governor at time of dedication on June 20, 1932

William Alexander MacCorkle

Term of office 1893-1897; served on building commission from 1925 until his death in 1930; longtime civic leader in Charleston: presided over cornerstone ceremony for east wing in November of l926

« previous | next »
This Web site is maintained by the West Virginia Legislature's Office of Reference & Information.  |  Terms of Use  |   Web Administrator   |   © 2017 West Virginia Legislature ***